• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
  • RSS

gluten-free holiday hacks

It has become popular of late to eat a gluten-free or gluten-reduced diet so there are many food products that are clearly labelled as such. But if a guest is coming over who is gluten-sensitive, gluten-intolerant, or has Celiac’s, it can be intimidating. Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye, triticale, barley but thankfully, fruits and veggies in their natural state are gluten-free as long as you avoid cross contamination! Certain main dishes and baked goods may require a little more effort, but all in all, your gluten-free guests will appreciate your care to ensure their enjoyment and well-being.

Make sure you’re checking labels for ingredients. When you are preparing recipes, be wary of additions you may not have thought about like Worcestershire sauce or dairy products. Some are gluten-free but others are not. For instance, some dairy products may be thickened with wheat based starches.

Here are some gluten-free holiday hacks to serve everyone at the table:

Gluten is more prevalent in your pantry than you think—be mindful when you’re entertaining that you have lots of gluten-free options. Ring in the new year with some bubbly and excellent finger food for all your friends, including those who are gluten-free!

  • Potatoes as all fruits and vegetables are gluten free but be careful of cross contamination. For instance, don’t bake potatoes directly on an oven rack that may have crumbs or remnants from pizza or bread.
  • Mix up your holiday dessert game with these candied kumquat coconut tarts
  • Whip up some jalapeño corn muffins for your GF guests, you just may have to keep them out of reach of your other guests because they’ll want one too!
  • Keep pitas, crackers, and other wheat products separate from the dipping veggies for your favourite veggie dips and hummus.
  • Check labels for ingredients. When you are preparing recipes, be wary of additions you may not have thought about like Worcestershire sauce or dairy products. Some are gluten-free but others are not. For instance, some dairy products may be thickened with wheat based starches.

For more info and resources, check out the following:

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our Community of Cooks!

Receive our weekly newsletter and be the first to know about new seasonal recipes, tips from chefs, dietitians and food writers - and contests!

Yay! You're signed up to our mailing list and will be receiving your first recipe soon.

Powered byRapidology